Guava Rum and Coconut Bars


  
The other day I was talking to one of my readers (and old high school friend) and he said after making one of my recipes “What can I do with the left over guava paste I have after making your Empanadas de Guayaba recipe? So after making myself a rum and coke “Cuba Libra” I started to play around in the kitchen and here is what I came up with. Thank you Jim for trying my recipe.
 

 

Cheese Filling:

1 – 8 oz package cream cheese, softened

¼ cup butter, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ tsp lemon extract

½ cup confectioners sugar

 

 
Crust:

1 ¼ cup graham cracker crumbs

¼ cup sugar

½ cup sliced almonds

4 tbsp butter melted

Guava Rum Sauce:

16 oz guava paste, by weight, diced into small cubes

½ cup sugar

2 tbsp butter

1 oz rum (I used dark Rum)

Sweetened shredded coconut for garnish

To make cheese filling use a mixer at medium speed to mix the butter and cream cheese for 5 minutes. Add vanilla and lemon extract and mix for 1 minute. Then slowly add sugar a little at a time until combined. Remove mixture to a bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Place bowl in refrigerator to set.

To make the crust put almonds and sugar in a small food processor and pulse until you get a coarse crumb. Remove almond sugar to a mixing bowl and add graham cracker crumbs. Pour in melted butter and combine using a fork.

guava bars

Grease a 12” x 9” pan with butter then line the pan with parchment paper.

guava bar

Then grease the parchment paper. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Pour crumb mixture into pan and press crumbs evenly over the bottom of the pan using a flat-bottomed glass. Place in oven for 12 minutes.

guava bar

Remove pan from oven and cool for 15 minutes To make the Guava Rum sauce add guava paste, sugar, butter and rum into a medium saucepan at medium heat until the guava melts. The sauce will be a bit grainy.

guava bar

. Remove cheese mixture from the refrigerator and pour over cooled crust.

guava bar

Spread cheese mixture over crumbs.

guava bar

Then spread guava rum sauce over cheese mixture.

guava bar

Sprinkle top with shredded coconut. Place pan into refrigerator for 1 hour to set before cutting into 2’ X 3” bars.

guava bar

 

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.