Sofrito and Red Kidney Beans


sofrito tray

Sofrito is a blend of peppers, onions, garlic, spices and herbs used to flavor the food from Puerto Rico and many other Latin American countries. I always keep some in my freezer. When I make up a batch I freeze it in small pre-measured containers so it is ready to go when I am making rice and beans. I also use it to marinate meat.

This is the basic recipe I use to make my sofrito.

  • 2 large green peppers (coarsely diced)
  • 2 medium onions (coarsely diced)
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 3 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. dried cilantro
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil or light olive oil

Place all ingredients in a food processor and puree for 10 seconds. Spoon 4 tablespoons  of mixture into small plastic cups or into hole of ice cube tray and freeze. After freezing I place the cups or cubes into a large freezer bag until ready to use.

To make Red Kidney Beans I use :

  • 1 plastic cup of sofrito or 1 cube from ice cube tray
  • 3 tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 2 – 15 oz. cans Red Kidney beans (do not drain liquid)
  • 1 – 8 oz. can tomato sauce

Place sofrito and oil into medium sized sauce pan over low heat until thawed. Then raise the heat to medium low and continue to cook for 3 minutes. Add beans and sauce to pan and simmer for 20 minutes. Serve over white rice.

Espero que disfrute de esta receta.

(Translation: I hope you enjoy this recipe.)

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.