Mini Potato Knish


Living in Florida has many benefits (ie: weather, beaches and no snow) but it also has some challenges. When I lived in New York if I wanted a Knish I walked down the block to the local deli and got one. Today I had a craving for a Knish and  there wasn’t a NY deli in sight. Then I decided if I really wanted a Knish I had to make it myself. This recipe is far from a traditional Knish but I was pleasantly surprised with the finished product.

Ingredients:

5 medium-sized potatoes (peeled and boiled until fork tender)

1 cup finely diced white onion

1 clove garlic finely minced

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/2  chicken bouillon cube (Knorr brand extra-large)

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 tbsp corn starch

1 large egg

1 package Fillo sheets(defrosted in the fridge over night)

2 sticks butter melted

Mash the boiled potatoes then place potatoes into the bowl of a stand mixer and allow to cool. Saute onions, garlic, pepper and the bouillon cube (I like Knorr brand cubes because they are soft and easy to mix in with the onions) in vegetable oil until the onions are clarified.  Add onion mixture to potatoes and combine on slow speed. Then add corn starch and egg. Continue to mix until the egg is fully absorbed.

Place potato mixture into a one gallon plastic bag.

Keep the Fillo dough under a damp towel to prevent the sheets from drying out until ready to be used.

Remove 1 sheet of Fillo from under the towel and brush the middle third of the sheet with butter .

Fold the right hand third of Fillo sheet over the buttered third. Brush butter on top of the piece you just folded over.

Fold the left hand side over the rest and brush with butter.

Cut away the corner of the plastic bag so you can use it like a piping bag.

Squeeze  out about 1 tsp. of potato mixture onto one end of the buttered Fillo.

Fold the bottom left corner over the potatoes and line up to the right side.

Then fold the point up.

Keep on folding like a flag until you reach the end.

Place on baking sheet. brush the tops with butter. and cover with a damp towel.

While you are making the Knishes  keep your towel damp by using a spray bottle. Place Knishes on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake at 425 degrees for 8 minutes.  The Knishes  can be frozen and baked at a later time.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.