Ratatouille Pizza with Pesto Sauce


Ratatouille pizza with pesto sauce

I like making meatless Pizza but I was looking for a slightly different twist when I came across a recipe for a Ratatouille then I decided to add some Pesto to the recipe to kick it up.

Pesto sauce:
2 cloves garlic
1/4 cup pine nuts
1 ounce fresh basil
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
Process
Place all ingredients and a blender or small food processor and puree.

Dough:
3 cups bread flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups warm water
2 teaspoons yeast
2 teaspoons sugar
2 tablespoons olive oil + 1 tablespoon
Process
1 – Put bread flour and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer.
2 – Place water yeast and sugar in a large measuring cup. Stir and allow to stand for 10 minutes to proof.
3 – Add 2 tablespoons olive oil to the liquid then pour liquid into mixing bowl
4 – Using the dough hook set mixer on number two and allow to run for 10 minutes.


5 – After 10 minutes remove dough from bowl and shape into a ball.


6 – Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to the bowl and roll the ball in olive oil to coat then cover bowlwith plastic wrap. Allow dough to rise for one hour.


7 – Roll out dough to fit a 12×18 sheet pan.
8 – Cover sheet pan with a towel and allow dough to rise for 10 additional minutes.


9 – Using your fingers poke holes in top of dough to create small indents.


10 -Add tomato sauce to the entire top of pizza.


11 – Spread mozzarella cheese over the top of pizza.


12 – Make 4 stripes alternating vegetable slices(12 pieces per stripe).


13 – Drizzle Pesto sauce along each stripe of vegetables.


14 – scatter goat cheese crumbles over top of pizza.



Bake at 425° for 18 minutes.


Pizza toppings
:
8 ounce can tomato sauce
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
16 thin slices of each :
Roma tomatoes, yellow squash and zucchini
2 ounces goat cheese(crumbled)




About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.