Creamy Butternut Squash and Coconut Milk Soup


photo (2)

Butternut squash and coconut milk are a wonderful flavor combination.  This is the perfect cold weather soup. The ginger, curry and cinnamon will give you that warm fuzzy feeling down to your toes. Serve with warm crusty bread and you have a quick easy meal.

4 cups butternut squash – 1″ dice

2 carrots sliced

1/2 medium onion diced

1 clove garlic diced

1 tbsp. minced fresh ginger

6 cups chicken stock or use enough to just cover vegetables

13.5 oz. can coconut milk

1/4 tsp curry powder (+/-) to taste

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp cumin

salt and pepper to taste

Place all ingredients into a thick bottomed pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer until vegetables are fork tender (about 20 minutes). Allow soup to cool then use a blender to puree soup in batches until it is creamy. (Do not put hot soup into blender). Then re-heat the soup to serve.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

5 Responses to Creamy Butternut Squash and Coconut Milk Soup

  1. barbarann says:

    I’ve made this more than once since first seeing it. We’ve gotten quite a few butternut squashes from our CSAs this year, which gives me an excuse to make this over and over. The flavors are incredible together. Thanks, Renee.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Curried Butternut Squash Soup | Healthy Eating Weight Loss and Best Nutrition Tips

  3. nusrat2010 says:

    A very thoughtful, kind, useful initiative indeed: saving heirloom recipes 🙂 Thanks a bunch for visiting my blog. And see! Now you have a fan for the rest of your life 🙂 It would be my pleasure to keep coming back to your recipes. By the way, my soul danced seeing you adding cury powder to the butternut squash soup. Nom …nom…nom…

    Like

Leave a Reply

