Panna cotta with Blackberry/Merlot Compote


I promised a few friends that I would share this recipe. You will be surprised, even though it looks fancy and has an exotic name, how easy this dessert is to make. Don’t tell your friends, they will be so impressed.

Ingredients

1 Quart Heavy cream

5 wide strips of orange rind (no white)

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 packages unflavored gelatin

6 tbsp. cold water

cooking spray

 

Heat cream, orange rind and sugar in a heavy bottomed sauce pan until just before it begins to boil. Add vanilla. Then set cream mixture aside.

 

See that wasn’t too hard. Place water in a separate bowl and sprinkle gelatin on top.

Stir to dissolve.

Let gelatin stand 10 minutes. Spray Bundt pan with oil.

Pour warm cream into bowl with gelatin and stir to combine. Then pour mixture into oiled Bundt pan. Refrigerate over night or 24 hours.

Blackberry Compote

1 cup plus 2 cups Fresh Blackberries

1/4 cup Merlot wine

1/2 cup sugar

Place 1 cup blackberries sugar and wine in a sauce pan and bring to a boil stirring occasionally. Allow mixture to cool. Push mixture though a fine strainer using the back of a spoon. Add remaining whole berries to liquid and refrigerate over night.

Remove Panna cotta from mold by dipping mold in hot water being careful not to get water into mold. Dry bottom of mold with a towel then  flip mold over onto serving dish and the Panna cotta will fall out.

Pour cooled berry mixture over the top.

 

 

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

One Response to Panna cotta with Blackberry/Merlot Compote

  1. My husband loves panna cotta and it often reminds me of the “tembleque” in Puerto Rico.

    Very nicely done with the compote.

    Like

Leave a Reply

