Date Nut Muffins


Date nut muffin

This article is the product of a long search for a Date Nut Bread recipe that tastes like the loaf made by Thomas’. They stopped making their loaf years ago and since then I have craved a slice of it smeared with cream cheese. In my quest I found a recipe that was originally printed in the food section of the Houston Chronicle. After trial and error and a few modifications to that recipe I think I am finally ready to sit down with a muffin and some cream cheese and go to heaven! Please don’t interrupt me until I’m done.

  • 8 oz. package pitted dates
  • 3 cups hot water
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter
  • 1 1/2  cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp. molasses
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup pecan pieces

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut dates into 4 pieces. Place chopped dates into hot water for 10 minutes(do not soak for longer than 10 minutes or they will get too mushy). Drain dates and reserve 1 1/2 cups of the soaking liquid. Set liquid and dates aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, molasses, vanilla and the 1 1/2 cups of reserved water. Stir to combine. (It will looked like mixture is curdled – that is ok. Don’t worry keep baking!)

In a separate bowl combine flour baking soda and salt.

Add flour mixture to wet mixture in stand mixer. Stir until just combined. Fold in reserved dates and pecan pieces. Line muffin pan with cupcake liners. Spoon mixture into the top of lined muffin pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Recipe makes 24 muffins.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

5 Responses to Date Nut Muffins

  1. Susan says:

    Thanks for posting! I made these today…they are delicious and now I’m goin to refrigerate to see if I can get them to take on more of the dense texture as the old Thomas’ brand. Regardless, this is a fantastic recipe!

    Like

  2. Diane arroyo Rivera says:

    These look good will be trying this recipe. nice platter titi

    Like

Leave a Reply

