Easy Mini Spanakopita Pies


100_2203

I have been asked by so many of my friends, especially around the Holidays, for a quick and easy appetizer recipe. I chose this dish not only because it is quick and easy but because it tastes so good. I do take some liberties with the traditional Spanakopita recipe by adding mushrooms to the recipe. I first added the mushrooms to the recipe many years ago because my sister told me that my brother-in-law Bob hated mushrooms and she bet me I could not get him to eat them. Do I need to tell you what Bob’s favorite appetizer has been ever since.

 

Yes this is Bob!

Yes this is Bob!

 

6 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 cup onion – diced

4 cloves garlic – diced

1 cup mushrooms – finely minced ( I use a mini food processor) it helped to hide the mushrooms from Bob

 2 boxes frozen chopped spinach – defrosted and squeezed dry

1 splash sherry or white wine

4 ounces Feta cheese – crumbled

2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese – grated

2 boxes Athens Brand Filo Cups – 15 cups / box

Pam non stick spray

Parchment paper

 

Sauté onions in olive oil over medium heat for about 3 minutes or until clarified. Add garlic to pan and cook for an additional 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Add mushrooms to the pan and cook  for 5 minutes stirring  occasionally.

100_2193

Add spinach and sherry to the pan and cook for another 5 minutes. Stir well to combine. Remove pan from heat and allow to cool.

Add the Feta and Parmesan cheeses to the pan and stir until well combined.

Place Filo cups on a parchment lined baking pan. Lightly spray the tops of the cups with Pam.

100_2200

Fill each cup with a heaping tablespoon of spinach mixture. Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Allow to cool 5 minutes before serving. Any extra spinach mixture can be frozen for another party or used to stuff an omelet…Yummy. Spinach and feta omelet.

100_2201

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

One Response to Easy Mini Spanakopita Pies

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Maybe you’d like my mini BeaverTails deconstructed? They were easy and tasty – but I must admit the pastry part was not home made… https://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2015/03/10/beavertails-deconstructed/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

