Quick and Easy Roasted Red Pepper and Garlic Hummus Recipe


roasted red pepper and garlic hummus

roasted red pepper and garlic hummus

I call it quick and easy because I use roasted red peppers from a jar and I use sesame oil and peanut butter in place of the usual tahini because I don’t use tahini often enough to keep some in my pantry. My favorite thing about this recipe is you throw everything in the food processor and whiz it.

1 small head of garlic – top cut off

1 tbsp. olive oil

4 oz. jar roasted red peppers – drain and reserve liquid

juice of 1/2 lemon

2 cans garbanzo beans drained – skins removed from the beans makes the hummus creamier (optional)

1 tsp sesame oil

4 tbsp. creamy peanut butter

1 tsp. cumin

2 dashes hot sauce

100_2189Roast garlic and olive oil in a foil pouch for 30 minutes at 300 degrees. Set aside to cool. Squeeze garlic cloves to remove the pulp right into food processor along with the remaining oil from foil pouch.

100_2190

Add remaining ingredients to food processor except for reserved pepper juice and puree until creamy. (about 4 minutes) Use reserved juice to thin if necessary. Add salt and pepper to taste. Reserve a few garbanzo beans and pieces of red pepper for garnish.

Serve with raw vegetables or pita crackers.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

7 Responses to Quick and Easy Roasted Red Pepper and Garlic Hummus Recipe

  1. I have to try this, sounds good! You are using peanut butter which is new to me:)

    Like

  2. admin says:

    Picture removed! Found it in the Library; usage not intentional apologies

    Liked by 1 person

  3. admin says:

    I didn’t put your picture in my recipe take a look at the blog post here: http://healthyeatingfacts.net/curried-butternut-squash-soup/375/. I put it down to one of the plugins or the theme. I will try and remove it if it offends you, sorry about that

    Like

Leave a Reply

