Pfeffernusse Cookies


T’was the week before Christmas and all through the house was the smell of cookies baking

full of sugar and spice…

This is my favorite Christmas Holiday cookie. The taste and smell will get you into the holiday spirit.

Wishing Love and a Very Merry Christmas to all my Friends and Family

Renee

 

Pfeffernusse Cookies

German Christmas Cookies or”Peppernuts”

 
1/4 cup molasses
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup unsalted butter
2 eggs, beaten
2 teaspoons anise extract
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon allspice, ground
1/2 cup ground walnuts or pecans
1 cup confectionery sugar

 

Combine butter, molasses and, honey in a pot and melt over low heat on the stove. Do not boil! Remove from heat and let cool. Beat eggs and anise extract together and stir into honey mixture. In a separate mixing bowl add the flour, sugars, spices, nuts and salt and mix together well with a spoon. Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture and stir till makes a stiff dough. Chill about 3 hours in the refrigerator. Remove the dough from refrigerator and roll into small balls with your hands. I use the small end of a melon baller that gets them all the same size. The dough is easy to work once it comes out of the fridge. Place on parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake in preheated 325 degree oven 15 minutes.
Remove from pan and let cool. Roll in confectionery sugar. Store in airtight container and allow to sit for a couple of days before serving. Makes about 8 dozen cookies depending on size you make them. You will love these with a cup of coffee in the mornings or for a snack anytime! They are soft when removed from the oven, get hard as they cool off and then soften again over time. I usually make them a week before Christmas.
This recipe was modified from a recipe that was posted by” The Southern Lady” on Sept. 4 2011.
About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

3 Responses to Pfeffernusse Cookies

  1. I love these cookies, if they’re made correctly and these look sooooo good. Nice job.

    Like

  2. Wow. Those spices must make the cookies so delish!! Loved your recipe. These look so beautiful! Do drop by my space when you can. I’d love to hear from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

