Peanut Butter Cake


I was asked to bring a dessert to my sister’s house on Thanksgiving Day. Since I know my family likes chocolate cake and I had a bunch of Reese’s Peanut butter cups left over from Halloween, I came up with my version of “Peanut Butter Cake”. I started off with my favorite chocolate cake recipe which is on the can of Hershey’s dark chocolate or on Hershey’s web page – http://www.hersheys.com/recipes/184/HERSHEY’S%20%22PERFECTLY%20CHOCOLATE%22%20Chocolate%20Cake.aspx

 

 

2 layers:

2 cups sugar

1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa

1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup boiling water

 

Heat the oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.

Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely before frosting.

 

Then while the cakes were cooling I made the following icings-

 

Peanut Butter Icing:

1 cup peanut butter

4 ounces cream cheese

¼ pound butter

1 ½ cups powdered sugar

1 tbsp vanilla

3 tbsp milk

 

Place peanut butter, cream cheese and butter into mixing bowl and cream together using mixer at medium speed. Mix until smooth. Then with mixer set at low-speed, slowly add powdered sugar. When completely combined add vanilla and milk to mixture.

 

Chocolate Ganache Icing:

8 ounces Bakers Chocolate

½ cup heavy cream

3 tbsp corn syrup

½ tsp vanilla extract

 

Grate the Bakers chocolate into a bowl using large holes of a box grater. Place remaining ingredients into a sauce pan and bring to a boil. Pour cream mixture over grated chocolate and allow to rest for 1 minute then using a spoon slowly stir mixture using a circular motion until combined. Allow to rest for 2 minutes before using. The ganache can be poured over cake and spread with spatula to even out.

 

Here is how it is assembled:

Frost first layer with peanut butter icing

Pour chocolate ganache on second layer and decorated it with peanut butter cups (I removed the foil on all but the center cup)

When ganache sets, place second layer on top of cake

Frost outside of cake with peanut butter icing

Place mini Reese’s around bottom of cake

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a Reply

