Dutch Apple Crumb Cake


With the coming of the fall season and the Holidays just around the corner I started to think about how good the house smells when there is something baking in the oven that has cinnamon in it and because there are so many varieties  of apples at the supermarket this time of year and the price is right, I decided to make a cake incorporating both cinnamon and apples.

Streusel  Topping

½ cup flour

½ cup sugar

1 ½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp allspice

4 tbsp  butter (diced)

Place above ingredients into food processor and pulse
until well combined and crumbly. Put streusel into plastic bag and place in
refrigerator.

Cake batter:

1/ ½ cups flour

¾ cups sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray 9 ½ inch spring form cake pan with Pam
spray. Line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and set aside. Place
flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a bowl and whisk to combine. In a
separate bowl, whisk oil, milk, egg and vanilla. Pour wet ingredients into dry
ingredients and using a spatula, mix until just combined. Spread batter into
prepared pan.

Dutch Apple Filling:

3 Granny Smith apples peeled cored and diced (½” cubes)

1/2 cup raisins (or dried cranberries)

¼ tsp ground ginger

¼ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp allspice

1 tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp flour

¼ cup sugar

3 tbsp lemon juice

Place above ingredients in a bowl and stir to combine. Cover the batter with
apple filling then sprinkle with prepared streusel topping. Place pan into
pre-heated oven for 35 minutes.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

2 Responses to Dutch Apple Crumb Cake

  1. kimie says:

    Love this cake. Probably my favorite thing u ever made.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

