Happy Halloween – Witch Finger Cookies


 

I was looking for a Halloween recipe I could use for the Senior cooking class I teach and I came across this recipe. They loved it so I thought I would share it with you. It is not only creepy but it tastes good too.

1 cup salted butter, softened
1 cup powdered sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoon almond extract
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup whole blanched almonds
1 tube red cake decorator gel

 

In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy then add egg, almond and vanilla extracts. It will look like the batter broke but keep beating until it comes back together and looks like butter again

 Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl. Add flour mixture to wet mixture and beat just until moistened. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

 pre-heat oven to 325°F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper (or lightly grease them.)

 Working with one-quarter of the dough at a time and keeping the remainder refrigerated, roll heaping teaspoonful of dough into finger shape for each cookie.

Press almond firmly into 1 end for nail.

Squeeze in center to create “knuckle” shape. Using a small knife, make slashes in several places to complete the look of the knuckle.

 Place on prepared baking sheets and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until pale golden. Let cool for 3 minutes. Lift up the almond and squeeze red decorator gel onto nail bed and press almond back in place, so gel oozes out from underneath. If you want to get really gross, you can also make slashes in the finger and fill them with “blood.” I also dip the cut ends in red gel.

 Remove from baking sheets and let cool on racks (and let the red gel set).

For added gore I wrap each finger with sterile gauze and squeeze some more red gel to simulate blood.

This recipe (with a few modifications) was featured in a post on The Recipe Girl blog: Kid Friendly Halloween Recipes.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

2 Responses to Happy Halloween – Witch Finger Cookies

  1. Diane says:

    Awesome! Would be great for a party! (I love Halloween) 🙂 thank you for this post. Your blog is lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

