Orange Glazed BBQ Spare Ribs Baked in the Oven


This is the easiest method I have ever tried for cooking ribs and they come out so moist and tender. The meat falls off the bone and they will melt in your mouth. I also gave this BBQ  sauce an asian twist by using the orange and ginger.

Dry Rub:

½ tsp cayenne pepper

1 tbsp cumin

1tsp garlic powder

1tsp onion powder

tbsp paprika

1 tbsp coco powder

1 tbsp espresso coffee

 

Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees. In a small bowl combine all of the above ingredients.

 Use seasoning to dry rub t a rack of St Louis style pork spare ribs.

Wrap ribs tightly with foil.

Place wrapped ribs on a baking sheet and place in oven. Bake the ribs in the oven for 2 ½ hours. Remove ribs from oven and unwrap ribs and baste with BBQ sauce.

Increase temperature in oven to 400 degrees. Put ribs back in the oven but do not cover with foil. After 15 minutes, baste the ribs again and place back in the oven, then after 15 minutes baste ribs lightly and bake for an additional 15 minutes. Allow them to cool slightly before serving.

 

Orange BBQ Sauce:

1 medium onion diced

½ green pepper diced

1 jalapeno diced

2 cloves garlic

½ tsp grated ginger

1 tbsp vegetable oil

4 tbsp orange marmalade

½ tsp sesame oil

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 tsp Tabasco sauce

3 tbsp honey

3 tbsp molasses

1 tbsp yellow mustard

1 tsp soy sauce

¼ cup brown sugar

1 cup catsup

 

Sauté onion, green pepper, jalapeno pepper, garlic, ginger and oil in small sauce pan over medium heat for 3 minutes then add remaining ingredients and drop to low heat. Simmer sauce for ½ hour.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a Reply

