Sarah’s Sugar Cookies


  

Did you know that July 9th is National Sugar Cookie Day?

I have a young friend named Sarah. She is 12 and loves to cook. She asked me to teach her to make sugar cookies and here is her recipe.

Sugar Cookie Dough Recipe

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar plus additional sugar for topping
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking soda and salt and set aside. In a separate bowl mix the sugar, brown sugar, lemon zest and butter until creamed. Add 1 egg at a time and mix well. Add vanilla and lemon juice and mix. Add flour to wet ingredients 1/2 at a time and stir until just combined. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and place on non stick cookie sheet then flatten with bottom of a glass and sprinkle with sugar. Bake till golden about 12 – 15 minutes (less time for chewier cookies). Remove cookies from cookie sheet and place on rack to cool.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a Reply

