Chicken Fricassee


This week I taught another class for the seniors at the Landings at Sea Forrest. I decided to do an heirloom recipe of my mothers called “Chicken Fricassee”. I was never sure about the name of this dish because some times my mother called it Chicken Cacciatore. After hours of research I think they are similar dishes only one is from Spain and one is from Italy. Either way I find this slowly braised chicken with tomatoes and vegetables soothing to the soul. The ladies in the class had a great time and the lady in the picture asked to take some home to her sick husband. I thought that was nice of her and I took her picture for the blog.

3 tbsp olive oil

1 cup onion, diced

1 cup green peppers, diced

1/2 cup sliced carrots

3 cloves garlic diced

2 cups sliced mushrooms

1 tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

½ tsp allspice

1 bay leaf

¼ tsp dried oregano

¼ tsp dried basil

2 tbsp flour

8 oz can of tomato sauce

28 oz can of diced tomatoes

½ cup red wine

½ cup chicken broth

6 chicken thighs (remove skin)

¼ cup capers (rinsed)

½ cup Manzanilla olives

1 cup diced potatoes (1” cubes)

1 lb package of medium wide egg noodles

Heat the olive oil in a sauté pan over medium heat. Add onions, peppers and carrots and sauté for 5 minutes. Add garlic, mushrooms and spices and continue to cook for an additional 2 minutes. Sprinkle flour over pan and combine. Add tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, wine and chicken broth then bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer for 5 minutes then remove the pan from heat and set aside. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Place the chicken in a Dutch oven and cover chicken with capers, olives and potatoes. Pour sauté mixture over chicken and cover pot. Place the pot into a pre-heated oven and cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes or until chicken is almost falling off the bone. Serve over egg noodles.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a Reply

