Mandarin Chicken Salad


This week I was asked to give a cooking class to a group of 30 seniors at the Landings at Sea Forest. At first I didn’t know what to expect but once the class got started I saw some magic happen. As I started describing what we were making their faces lit up and they looked so excited. They started asking questions that let me know they were interested in what I was doing. After the class I gave them a small sample of what I prepared and answered questions for them. I was asked if I would do this every month and they have all given me their requests for next months meal. Volunteer it can mean so much to someone.

Mandarin Chicken Salad

 Dressing
 ½ cup rice wine vinegar
 ½ cup canola oil
 ½ tsp sesame oil
 ¼ cup orange juice
 1 tsp mustard
 1 tsp peanut butter
 1 tbsp honey
 ¼ tsp fresh ginger minced
 ¼ tsp fresh garlic minced
 ¼ tsp salt
 ¼ tsp black pepper

 Marinade
 ¼ cup Dressing
 2 tbsp soy sauce
 1 tsp corn starch
 1 lb chicken breast diced into 1” cubes

 Salad
 1 bag mixed salad greens
 2 cups shredded Napa cabbage
 2 Mandarin oranges separated into wedges (Clementine or Tangerine) 
 3 scallions sliced
 Fried Chinese noodles

To make dressing, place all of the dressing ingredients in a bowl and whisk until well combined.

For the marinade separate ¼ cup of dressing and pour over diced chicken. Add soy sauce and corn starch to chicken and stir to combine. Allow chicken to rest in marinade for 15 minutes.

Sauté chicken in small batches until browned and set aside to cool.

Toss salad and cabbage in a large bowl with remaining dressing. Garnish with orange wedges, scallions, sautéed chicken and fried noodles.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

Leave a Reply

