Mini Bagels “All the Way”


The other day when I was in the bakery section of the supermarket I saw these cute miniature bagels and suddenly my mind drifted back to my clubbing days in the mid 70’s. I remember going to the local Discos with my buddies and dancing all night with the girls we met there. When the club closed down for the evening we would always invite the girls to go out with us to a late night diner for a bite to eat. This was how we found out if the girls we met were interested in us. I remember always ordering my favorite late night snack, a bagel “All the Way”. This was a toasted “Everything Bagel” with a schmear of cream cheese, a slice of lox, a slice of tomato and a slice of red onion. (I would order the onion on the side if I thought the prospects were looking good that night!) After coming back out of my little flashback I decided to buy everything I needed to reconstruct this memory. When I got home the first thing I did was to plug in the “Bee Gees Greatest Hits” CD and then I cranked up the volume on my stereo. Disc two – Song one – “Stayin’ Alive” was exactly what I needed to get started.
Note: The mini bagels I bought today were plain bagels, so to compensate for the lack of herbs and garlic on the outside of my bagel, I kicked up the cream cheese with some herbs and garlic, these mini bagels were better than I remembered. Ah, ha, ha, ha, Stayin Alive! Oh by the way a schmear of cream cheese is about ¼” to ½” thick, it’s a feel thing, you’ll know when you get it right. This recipe is dedicated to my childhood friend and best blues guitarist I know, Sid “Noah” Rothchild who introduced me to this wonderful culinary treat. Thanks Sid.

Slice bagel in half and toast
Add a healthy schmear of Herb and Garlic Cream Cheese to bottom half of the bagel, recipe for cream cheese below.
Add a piece or two of the Nova Scotia Lox.
Add a thick slice of tomato.
Add a pinch of sea salt and fresh crushed black pepper.
Add a slice of red onion.
Top with the other half of the bagel.
Serve with sweet pickles and olives.
It’s so easy and it’s so good.

Herb and Garlic Cream Cheese Recipe

8 ounce cream cheese, room temperature
¼ garlic powder
1/8 tsp dill weed
1/8 tsp basil
1/8 tsp oregano
1/8 tsp parsley
1/8 tsp celery salt
1/8 tsp black pepper

Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix with a spoon until well combined. Let mixture sit for 1 hour before using, this will allow the flavors to bloom.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

One Response to Mini Bagels “All the Way”

  1. Ann says:

    That looks delicious….When will you come and make some for us?

    Like

Leave a Reply

