GO GREEN! – Avocado and Pan Seared Shrimp Salad


 

This story has nothing to do with the Green Bay Packers, although I do like their odds. I have been hearing so much talk about “Going Green” these days that I decided to do my part. Today I am making avocado and pan seared shrimp over a bed of baby field greens with a citrus vinaigrette dressing. I like to use the California Hass Avocados, they are the small dark avocados with the pebbly skin, because they have a creamier and smother taste. Now I know you think I’m being funny because the avocado is green but today I did my shopping with a reusable green cloth grocery bag. My message is to “Say No to Plastic” and to “Save a Tree“ by bringing your own bag to the market. I hope you will enjoy this salad with a glass of Chardonnay and a loaf of crusty bread while you are sitting under a big old shade tree and then give it a hug for me. And please pick up your garbage before you leave. Thank you.

For the Dressing:

¼ cup orange juice

3 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp honey

1 tsp Dijon mustard

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp dried cilantro

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

½ cup extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp capers, rinsed

For the Pan Seared Shrimp:

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp dried cilantro

24 jumbo shrimp, peeled and de-veined, tail on

4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp chopped garlic

Additional Items:

1 bag baby field greens

2 California Avocados

Orange segments

sliced red onions for garnish

 

In a blender, combine all of the ingredients except the oil. Blend until smooth. With motor still running, add the oil in a steady stream until it is emulsified. Pour the dressing into a small bowl and then add the capers.

  

Arrange a hand full of greens to one side of 4 plates.



Cut the avocados in half and remove the pit.

  

Remove skin without damaging the avocado and then slice the ½ avocado into 6 slices from top to bottom. Using ½ of an avocado per plate. Fan slices onto the plate next to the salad. Place the orange slices between the points of the sliced avocado.



In a small bowl combine the salt, pepper, paprika and cilantro.



Dry the shrimp on a paper towel then dust spice mixture onto both sides of the shrimp.



Add oil to a hot skillet then sauté shrimp in pan for about 3 minutes per side and set aside.



Garnish the salad with the sliced red onions. Add 6 shrimp to each plate and then spoon dressing over entire dish.

About Renee Lalane
I was born and raised in New York. Later in life I moved to Central Florida. I am of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Puerto Rican and Cuban decent. I have been working in the restaurant business for most of my life and have owned five along the way. Recently I became aware of the fact that as my elders passed away their recipes passed with them. I call these recipes "Heirloom Recipes" I am dedicating this site to saving recipes from extinction. Not only recipes from my family but from yours. Do you have a unique recipe that needs saving? Send it to me along with a name and picture of your relative and I will review it and possibly post it as an Heirloom Recipe.

One Response to GO GREEN! – Avocado and Pan Seared Shrimp Salad

  1. Pingback: Teaching Andrew; Pan Seared Lamb Steaks with Sauteed Dino Kale | Food Thinking

Leave a Reply

